Is It Supposed To Turn Out Like This?

Decorating By puddles_gal Updated 21 Dec 2010 , 2:08am by Karen421

puddles_gal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
puddles_gal Posted 18 Dec 2010 , 5:15pm
post #1 of 19

Yesterday I made a chocolate ganche following this recipe: 12oz. chocolate, 1 cup heavy cream, and 1 tbsp butter. After bringing the cream and butter to a boil, I poured it over the chopped chocolate and let it sit 5 mins before stirring, then refridgerated for 1 hour.
I was using the ganache as a filling, and after about 2 minutes from being out of the fridge, it started to get a bit solid, so I microwaved it a bit to softened it up, then filled my cupcakes. Later on however, I noticed that the filling had returned to a sort of solid state, much like a truffle consistency. Not rock-hard, but solid enough to form a sort of ball in the cupcakes. It's my first time making ganache-is it supposed to be like that?

18 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 18 Dec 2010 , 5:20pm
post #2 of 19

A softer ganache would be 2 parts chocolate to 1 part cream. You're using 1.5 parts chocolate to 1 part cream, so yes, that will make it very firm.

puddles_gal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
puddles_gal Posted 18 Dec 2010 , 5:46pm
post #3 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by leah_s

A softer ganache would be 2 parts chocolate to 1 part cream. You're using 1.5 parts chocolate to 1 part cream, so yes, that will make it very firm.

I see...is it still going to be okay to serve to my guests?

leah_s Posted 18 Dec 2010 , 6:44pm
post #4 of 19

There's nothing wrong with it. It will just be very firm, not soft and creamy.

saffronica Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
saffronica Posted 18 Dec 2010 , 7:09pm
post #5 of 19

Maybe I'm slow...but wouldn't two parts chocolate to one part cream make it even firmer? Shouldn't it be equal parts chocolate and cream for a soft, creamy ganache?

Karen421 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile