Problems With Photographing A Cake

Decorating By iluvpeeks Updated 15 Nov 2010 , 7:45pm by lchris

iluvpeeks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
iluvpeeks Posted 10 Nov 2010 , 10:40pm
post #1 of 18

I made a Cat in the Hat cake this past weekend for my grandson. The cake really came out nice, (or at least I think it did) and I would like to post pictures of it, but none of the pictures that either I took, my son took, or my daughter took show the true color red that was on the cake. Either it has a pinkish tone to it, or orange tone. Does anyone else have this problem with the color red? I don't want to post any pictures, because I don't want people looking and thinking that I intended the icing to be pink or orange. We played around with the pictures to photoshop them with more of a red tone. To me, they still have an orange cast to them. Any suggestions?

17 replies
traci_doodle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
traci_doodle Posted 10 Nov 2010 , 10:59pm
post #2 of 18

I'm no pro, but it sounds like a lighting problem to me. I totally want to make a photobox for taking pictures of my cakes.

http://www.digital-photography-school.com/how-to-make-a-inexpensive-light-tent

iluvpeeks Posted 10 Nov 2010 , 11:05pm
post #3 of 18

Thanks Traci. That box is a great idea! My son said its the lighting also, but on his camera, red looked orange, and on my daughters red looked almost a hot pink. My sister thinks that red is probably just a hard color to photograph. I'm so bummed about this. I made his head out of rkt which is a first for me. icon_cry.gif

metria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
metria Posted 10 Nov 2010 , 11:20pm
post #4 of 18

cameras have minds of their own! the same camera can skew colors even when taking the pictures from the same position, depending on their settings. like the traci suggested, a light box is one of the best ways you can control the environment. even a bad camera can take good pictures as long as you have good lighting.