Very Discouraged After Last Cake... Need Help Please!?

Decorating By rkei Updated 30 Oct 2010 , 9:45pm by rkei

rkei Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rkei Posted 29 Oct 2010 , 11:11pm
post #1 of 16

I tried to do a fall cake. = FAIL. I have been decorating cakes for about two years now. I have had exactly two come out okayish. The rest either made me want to cry or throw them out. What am I doing wrong?

I just ordered a bunch of Wilton Cake Decorating books from the library. They got here, and I have been looking at them. Every single cake looks PERFECT!!! Is cake decorating just now for me or what?

I want to try a few more times before I give up. Here are my questions:

Big cake or small?

Round or Square?

1 tier or two

How much BC to use?

What kind of easy flowers or designs?

Should I try a bit of gumpaste?

Thank you in advance for your help! I know I sound REALLY whiney, but I guess I'm tired of working for hours on a cake and getting a piece of crap.

15 replies
cocobaby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cocobaby Posted 29 Oct 2010 , 11:31pm
post #2 of 16

FYI - when I took my Wilton course the teacher said the photos are retouched for the magazines! Don't give up! The best advice I can give is to use sugarshack's recipe for buttercream (the key is to use hi-ratio shortening) and the viva paper towel method. It has made a vast improvement in my cakes. I would also recommend getting some of her DVD's - she's amazing!!
HTH
Wanda

n_edge Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
n_edge Posted 29 Oct 2010 , 11:39pm
post #3 of 16