Edible Images On Fondant

Decorating By cakeaddikt Updated 22 Oct 2010 , 3:42pm by icingimages

cakeaddikt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeaddikt Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 6:11pm
post #1 of 7

I am new to edible images, I just purchased all of my equipment but I have a question. When placing the printed icing sheet on fondant does it still show up as white or will the actual icing sheet white color turn transparent once placed on cake. I was just wondering this becuase if the cake is another color other than white, then will the printed image plus the icing sheet still show? I figure I will have to cut the image out once printed but what if it is writing that is printed and you just want the writing image placed on a cake that is colored?? Just wondering.

6 replies
lifeisgood Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lifeisgood Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 6:16pm
post #2 of 7

I used a white one on colored fondant and it went transparent. It was a recipe card leaning on the handle of the basket. I had used a bit of piping gel to make sure it stayed there.

gingerbreadtogo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gingerbreadtogo Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 6:27pm
post #3 of 7

lifeisgood, where do you get your edible paper or frosting sheets? I use frosting sheets from kopykake and they stay white. I would love edible sheets that go transparent. Thanks

Mikel79 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mikel79 Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 6:38pm
post #4 of 7

Hi!

I do this all the time. Take a look at my photos. I have several cakes with
edible images. ALL of them are placed on white fondant and left to dry for several dies, until nice and firm.

The image or the frosting sheet does not change color. It goes on great and dries the same way.

HTH

Michael

cakeaddikt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeaddikt Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 10:16pm
post #5 of 7