Dowel Is Too Short--Urgent!!!! Please Help

Decorating By gissellr78 Updated 21 Oct 2010 , 9:02pm by sweetcakes

gissellr78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gissellr78 Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 4:54pm
post #1 of 13

Hi all,

I am making a 3 tier cake and i need to put dowels in all the tiers plus 1 dowel thru the top tier....

Problem is that the dowel is 12.5" and the cake with the top tier in place 20".

Do i insert the dowel and follow with another dowel right after so it can reach the top???

thanks all

12 replies
debbief Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debbief Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 5:00pm
post #2 of 13

I've never used the dowel through the center before. I've always been too scared to pound that thing down through the boards icon_sad.gif But it seems to me that one dowel on top of the other is not going to be stable. I'd almost say it would be safer to go without the center dowel than use two. Someone else with more experience may know better though.

gissellr78 Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 5:02pm
post #3 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by debbief

I've never used the dowel through the center before. I've always been too scared to pound that thing down through the boards icon_sad.gif But it seems to me that one dowel on top of the other is not going to be stable. I'd almost say it would be safer to go without the center dowel than use two. Someone else with more experience may know better though.

Yea..I am using dowels in the bottom 14" cake, in the middle 10" cake...maybe i should do just that and assemble the small 6" tier at the place.

What do you think?

debbief Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debbief Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 5:05pm
post #4 of 13

I think that's a great solution thumbs_up.gif

susgene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
susgene Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 5:07pm
post #5 of 13

Good idea. I'd add the top tier on-site.

julzs71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julzs71 Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 5:09pm
post #6 of 13