Problems Getting Feedback On Cakes?

Decorating By eve81 Updated 25 Oct 2018 , 5:47am by GI

eve81 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eve81 Posted 18 Oct 2010 , 10:32pm
post #1 of 26

I am in the lucky position that I bring most of my cakes to their destination and personally give them to the person they are for (because I'm not a professional just a hobbyist.) Recently I've been doing 2 cakes a week (october is a busy month) but how many cakes have i received feeback on? NONE!

No-one will cut my cakes at the party they are for. It seems to have become a thing here that the cake is for decorative purposes only and will be cut at a later date. Seriously?????????

I made a cake on the weekend for my nephew's christening, which everyone loved the look of, and I spent so much time baking ( 9 inch vanilla, 9inch chocolate devils food cake - built into a tall tier, then a 7 inch fruit cake) but they decided to take the cake home instead of cutting it. I was so disappointed. icon_sad.gif

I'm just starting out and trying new recipes and I need the feedback on taste texture...etc because they are the things I'm most unsure about.

Is this a new thing I hadnt heard of - why would you NOT cut cake????

25 replies
Occther Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Occther Posted 18 Oct 2010 , 10:55pm
post #2 of 26

Actually, I think that is rather selfish on the part of the host to not cut a cake and serve to guests. I know that I did a specific van for a groom's cake - and he refused to cut it at the wedding. Of course, they had plenty of wedding cake.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 19 Oct 2010 , 12:24am
post #3 of 26

More than once, when it's a family gathering or a work event, someone has been dumb enough to say in front of me about it being "too pretty to cut", to which I quickly (and in my bossiest MOM voice!) tell them, "I didn't work that hard on a cake just so you bozo's could LOOK at it! Now either get it cut or give me the knife!"