Sylvia Weinstock Classic Yellow Cake Into Marble Cake

Baking By tmelrose Updated 19 Oct 2010 , 5:48pm by tmelrose

tmelrose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tmelrose Posted 18 Oct 2010 , 4:21am
post #1 of 15

This coming weekend I want to try out Sylvia Weinstock's classic yellow cake since it always gets rave reviews. However I would like to try and make it a marble cake. I've never done this before with any cake. Someone posted that it makes 6 cups of batter. How much melted chocolate will I need to add to this? Maybe 2 oz squares? Is it best to swirl melted chocolate directly to batter once in pan? Or reserve so much batter and combine with melted chocolate then swirl in to remaining batter? Any help is appreciated.

How much cooled melted semi sweet chocolate?
Swirl directly into cake or combine chocolate with reserved batter, then swirl?

14 replies
tmelrose Posted 18 Oct 2010 , 4:18pm
post #2 of 15

Anybody? Help?

J1977 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
J1977 Posted 18 Oct 2010 , 4:30pm
post #3 of 15

I've done this with her recipe in the past. After the egg whites are folded in to the batter I removed about a creal bowl full to mix with cocoa/chocolate. I then poured the yellow batter into the pans and then spooned out the chocolate on top of the yellow and completed the swirl pattern with a knife and just make figure eights until it looks good. Don't do too much or you'll mix both batters completely and loose the marbeling.

Hope this helps. good luck.

tmelrose Posted 18 Oct 2010 , 5:05pm
post #4 of 15

Thanks. I'm just guessing but 2 - 1oz chocolate squares sound like a good amount for the chocolate?

J1977 Posted 18 Oct 2010 , 5:10pm
post #5 of 15

Yes that should do. I really just eyeball it to make sure the color is good.

sumerae Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sumerae Posted 19 Oct 2010 , 2:35am
post #6 of 15

What kind of chocolate did you use? And how much did you end up using?

This recipe is my favorite yellow cake recipe!