How To Stack 5 6 Inch Cakes?

Decorating By pag41989 Updated 22 Sep 2010 , 4:02pm by CWR41

pag41989 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pag41989 Posted 22 Sep 2010 , 12:38pm
post #1 of 9

I am stacking and decorating a top hat cake tonight. I baked the cakes last night, I was going to do 6 thin 6 inch cakes but the cakes I baked rose more than I thought they would so I am now going with 5 thick 6 inch cakes. Should I stack 3 of them and then dowel and add the last two layers? Also should I put a thinner dowel down the middle of the entire cake? Help! I have never done a cake this tall before and I am worried that the whole thing is going to slide everywhere and go smoosh. icon_sad.gif

8 replies
CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 22 Sep 2010 , 1:38pm
post #2 of 9

The general rule is to add supports for every 4" of cake height. I'd stack two of your 2" layers, add dowels, stack another two 2" layers (on their own board), add dowels, and stack the final 2" layer (on its own board) on the top. Definitely use a center dowel but not a thinner one (as in a skewer stick), use the same diameter center dowel that you're using for the supports.

LEHLA Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LEHLA Posted 22 Sep 2010 , 1:55pm
post #3 of 9

Totally agree with CWR41

pag41989 Posted 22 Sep 2010 , 2:03pm
post #4 of 9

Doesn't the center dowel have to be sharpened though? I use the plastic dowels at Michael's and I can't stick those through three boards down the center.

mayo2222 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mayo2222 Posted 22 Sep 2010 , 2:10pm
post #5 of 9