Filling Question

Decorating By Levh Updated 17 Sep 2010 , 1:11pm by lam159

Levh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Levh Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 2:05pm
post #1 of 4

I am new to cake making, and am making a cake for a baby shower this weekend. I was thinking about doing a white cake with a white chocolate buttercream filling, and reg buttercream for frosting and then I am doing fondant. However, I was thinking about putting chopped up strawberries in my white choc filling. Can this be done if i cook and deco the cake friday night and leave out and serve on sat afternoon? WIll teh strawberries go bad? Thanks for the help!

3 replies
Malakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Malakin Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 2:39pm
post #2 of 4

Strawberries have a tendency to get mushy, even when they are refrigerated, and they also sometimes bleed quite a bit. Sounds tasty though.

Karen421 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karen421 Posted 17 Sep 2010 , 12:27pm
post #3 of 4

I do strawberries all the time, fresh when they are in season, and frozen the rest of the time. I do refrigerate my cakes, and I use a nice stiff dam. I have had really good luck.

lam159 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lam159 Posted 17 Sep 2010 , 1:11pm
post #4 of 4