Overwhelmed. Need Coordination Advice Please.

Decorating By clpatrick Updated 16 Sep 2010 , 11:23pm by indydebi

clpatrick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
clpatrick Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 1:42am
post #1 of 13

I volunteered to help out at a spaghetti dinner fund raiser for four families that lost their homes to a fire. I offered to make some cookies and cupcakes for the bake sale and help out at the bake sale table. Two kids that lost their homes are in my class (I work as a teacher's aide) so I wanted to do what I could to help. So when I was asked if I wanted to come to the planning meeting tonight I went. My idea of helping and her's was completely different. There is only one women doing all the work (and she is lost at what to do). She has a lady at the local VFW where it will be held helping her with some of the coordination. I get there tonight and find out that she needs me to make all the baked goods - there are no donations. It is being held in 10 days. She is expecting 500 people. I just bake for my family and friends so I'm not sure how to coordinate the baking of everything. I have to cook everything there (there are four ovens) and they don't have any muffin pans and I only have 2. My daughter and her cheerleading team wants to help. I was thinking of having a decorating party and letting them help with the cookies. Any suggestions of what to make and timing would be greatly appreciated. I have never frozen my cupcakes and cookies so need to know can they be frozen decorated, is there anything that needs to be done to them first so they don't dry out? Sorry so long but I would appreciate any and all advice. Thanks a million.

12 replies
cutthecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cutthecake Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 2:24am
post #2 of 13

Do I understand correctly...there's a fund-raising spaghetti dinner with a bake sale at the dinner?