Brownie Pop Disaster

Baking By Bakerinhongkong Updated 16 Sep 2010 , 5:53pm by Suzisweet

Bakerinhongkong Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bakerinhongkong Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 12:57am
post #1 of 11

I am a complete novice to baking -- ok, I said it. I have big aspirations for my daughter's first birthday. 75 people are coming (OMG).

We did a test run of the extremely cute (and seamingly easy to make) brownie pops. Well, yikes, not good. We used the disc white chocolate as suggested: microwaved for 15 seconds to melt (many times) stiring after each. I pretty much cooked the chocolate.

Take two: used a water bath, same chocolates. I cooked it again.

Take three: used Giradelli white chocolate which actually melted but was instantly too thick (added double cream to make a ganache -- trying to save it). Ok, this worked fairly well.

We dipped the brownie balls into the mixture but the chocolate just ran off entirely. Further, the sticks didn't really stay so this morning, you can't pick them up. They are stuck onto the wire drying rack.

So, advice? Thanks so much.

An American Baker in Hong Kong

10 replies
Cake_Bliss Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cake_Bliss Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 1:11am
post #2 of 11

I haven't made brownie popos yet, but I do make cake balls. I usually mel the choc discs on defrost 1 min then stir and the defrost for 30 sec incriments until completely melted. I also have the too thick problem and I will just add a couple teaspoons of shotening and stir and check consistancy. Now with the cake balls I put them in the freezer thentake out dip one end of my stick in choc and stick it in put in fridge and then dip the ball in the chocolate. I use styrophone to stick the sticks in so there is no markings on my balls. I hope this helps. icon_smile.gif ~Angi

Kima920 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kima920 Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 1:16am
post #3 of 11