Which Pans Are Essential?

Decorating By zespri Updated 15 Sep 2010 , 11:52am by Apti

zespri Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
zespri Posted 13 Sep 2010 , 9:14pm
post #1 of 8

I currently only have one pan, it's 6.5 inches. I'd like to get some more, but would appreciate knowing which pans are thought of as essential to my kit if I plan on making loads of cakes in the future - which I do!!

As in, which size round, which size square, any other shapes which are commonly used? The round shaped ones puzzle me, I guess I'll have to use a mixing bowl?

7 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 14 Sep 2010 , 1:41pm
post #2 of 8

I'm a hobby baker, but I have round pans from size 5in up to 12in. I have the squares from 6 to 12. I also have hearts, ovals and hexagons. Plus others.

I'd invest in some basic shapes, at least rounds and squares, in a few different sizes. I like have two of each size. Then you can always add more as you need them or get a demand.

I have over 150 cake pans when you throw in all the shapes and 3d pans, and I hardly use most of them. Many of them have never been used at all. So if I was to do it again, I'd plan my investment alot better.

What do you mean by the round shaped one?

Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 15 Sep 2010 , 4:03am
post #3 of 8

Hi. I looked at your cake photos, they are darling! You have done excellent work for only 4 classes and practice. Is there a Michaels or Hobby Lobby or other craft store where you live that sells Wilton products? If you are able to use 40% coupons and purchase the pans, that's the cheapest way to go.

Like Texas Sugar, I'm doing this for a hobby but went ahead and bought 2 sets of each type pan so I don't have to take forever to bake 2 layers.