Need Advice Making Fondant Legos

Decorating By shannon100 Updated 5 Sep 2010 , 10:05pm by sweettreat101

shannon100 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shannon100 Posted 4 Sep 2010 , 9:05pm
post #1 of 8

Hi! My sister and I are making lego cakes for my nieces' birthday party. We're doing cupcakes also and want to do fondant legos as decorations. We bought some pre-made Wilton fondant to play with to figure it out. (I've never worked with fondant before! Only BC so far...)

After trial and error, we have some questions.

1. I read somewhere that when you roll out fondant, you should put cornstarch down to roll it on. But when we did that, there was white stuff all over the fondant. Is the cornstarch necessary? If so, how do you get the residue off the pieces?

2. We made the blocks and the round circles separate. What is the best way to attach the circles to the blocks? Buttercream? The package shows a bowl of water and a paintbrush. Will water make it stick together?

3. I know we need to make these ahead of time to let them dry out some. How long do they need to dry out? Do we just leave them out on the counter? We're in Texas and can easily get bugs if we leave food out, so we don't want to leave them overnight. What kind of container would be best to put them in? How far in advance can we make them if we still want them to be edible?

Thanks for any advice you can give!!!

7 replies
pinkjacs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinkjacs Posted 4 Sep 2010 , 9:12pm
post #2 of 8

[quote="shannon100"]Hi! My sister and I are making lego cakes for my nieces' birthday party. We're doing cupcakes also and want to do fondant legos as decorations. We bought some pre-made Wilton fondant to play with to figure it out. (I've never worked with fondant before! Only BC so far...)

After trial and error, we have some questions.