Help! Whipped White Chocolate Ganache...

Baking By est Updated 29 Aug 2010 , 2:36am by Foxicakes

est Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
est Posted 27 Aug 2010 , 9:39pm
post #1 of 6

I need some advice ASAP please!

I'm making a birthday cake and decided to do chocolate cake with whipped white chocolate ganache filling. I just tried making the whipped ganache and it's a sticky mess!

I'm a hobby baker and a total beginner and have never made whipped ganache before. Found some instructions and I went ahead and tried to make it, but after about 5 minutes of whipping, it's still very runny. I used white chocolate and heavy cream in a ratio of 3:1. Where did I go wrong?

The stuff tastes really good, but there is no way I can use that sticky stuff as a filling. Any ideas what did I do wrong and is there a way I can still use this yummy white chocolate mess?

Thanks!

5 replies
reenie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
reenie Posted 27 Aug 2010 , 9:58pm
post #2 of 6

If it is still warm, you have to let it cool to at least room temp or cooler so that the heavy cream can fluff for you. If it is still sticky, I'd try adding more heavy cream to try and "water it down" a bit. I usually use a ratio of 2:1 white chocolate to heavy cream when I make mine.

tesso Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tesso Posted 28 Aug 2010 , 1:10am
post #3 of 6

your problem is that 3:1.

go read this.. it will help you. icon_biggrin.gif http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=685062&postdays=0&postorder=asc&&start=0

we do get a little off topic on the second page icon_biggrin.gif

Sassy74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sassy74 Posted 28 Aug 2010 , 5:50pm
post #4 of 6

I just made whipped white choc ganache this past week, and I used 3:1. 24 oz white choc to 8 oz heavy whipping cream. It worked fine. I made my ganache, let it sit overnight, then whipped it up the next day. Whipped up beautiful!

Did you let it sit overnight, or at least until it set up?