Modeling Chocolate

Baking By ShanonM Updated 23 Aug 2010 , 8:50pm by cakegroove

ShanonM Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShanonM Posted 22 Aug 2010 , 11:39pm
post #1 of 8

I am trying hard to learn how to make modeling chocolate. Some one please help. After over 5 tries I still not getting it right. I is rock hard and grainy. When I try and knead it (after softening it in microwave) it crumbles and looks aweful. What am I doing wrong ?? icon_cry.gif

7 replies
anxietyattack Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
anxietyattack Posted 23 Aug 2010 , 12:02am
post #2 of 8

Is the chocolate grainy before you add the corn syrup? You have to be very careful when heating the chocolate because any of the tiniest amount of water could "sieze" your chocolate. I'm just a beginner though. I hope some more experienced bakers can give you some sound advice!

sheilabelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sheilabelle Posted 23 Aug 2010 , 1:10am
post #3 of 8

I have the same problem. I use Merkins disks if that makes a difference. Anyone with some suggestions?

ShanonM Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShanonM Posted 23 Aug 2010 , 2:09am
post #4 of 8

The Chocolate seems real creamy before the warm corn syrup. This is frustrating me thanks for all who give me advice icon_wink.gif

Cake_Bliss Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cake_Bliss Posted 23 Aug 2010 , 2:57am
post #5 of 8

I use this recipe and I haven't had a problem:

http://cakecentral.com/recipes/1985/candy-clay-for-modeling-3d-figures