I Need Any Icing That Doesn't Contain Any Milk Products!!

Baking By unexperienced Updated 24 Aug 2010 , 7:44am by JanH

bizatchgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bizatchgirl Posted 20 Aug 2010 , 2:50am
post #31 of 38

As Sadsmile said, products labeled non-dairy are not TRULY non-dairy. This includes non-dairy coffee creamer. This has an ingredient called casein, which is a milk protein. I am not technically 'allergic' but I have asthma and non-dairy coffee creamers affect me the same as milk does.

Familiarize yourself with all the milk related allergens and then check every label!

Casein or caseinate
Lactalbumen
Lactoglobulin
Lactose
Coffee-Mate, Prem, and Cool Whip contain casein or caseinate
Whey

Ther could be more. I got this from http://www.adrenalfatigue.org/sources-of-common-allergens/milk-allergens.html

dandelion56602 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dandelion56602 Posted 20 Aug 2010 , 2:53am
post #32 of 38

I use Sugarshack's recipe & use non-dairy creamer for my liquid. It does contain sodium caseinate which is a milk derivative, but not a source of lactose. Just ask if they are allergic to the products you're using

GI Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GI Posted 20 Aug 2010 , 12:23pm
post #33 of 38

You could try making SMBC and switching out the butter for HR shortening.

I make SMBC and up the granulated sugar by 1/2 c., sub some of the butter out for HR-short. and it holds up well in humidity. I have not tried making ALL with HR-short. but if you up the sugar a bit, then I believe it would still taste better than the non-dairy whip, which has chemical taste, IMHO. icon_smile.gif

roxie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
roxie Posted 20 Aug 2010 , 8:46pm
post #34 of 38

my recipe for icing is as follows:

1 pound of shortening
1 1/2 cups of cake and pastry flour
(blend these together) then add
almost 2 bags of icing sugar (or more if needed)
1 1/3 cups of water
2 tsps of clear vanilla, 2 tsps of butter flavouring