Caramel Macchiato Cupcakes?

Baking By SecretAgentCakeBaker Updated 1 Jan 2011 , 8:56pm by Rosie2

SecretAgentCakeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SecretAgentCakeBaker Posted 11 Aug 2010 , 1:45am
post #1 of 6

I'm not very good with creating flavors. I usually just do vanilla or chocolate with regular buttercream, or lemon with raspberry. For my father-in-law's birthday, I want to make cupcakes that look like Starbucks drinks and make them in the flavor of caramel macchiato or cappuccino or something like that.

I just googled and found out that caramel macchiatos are espresso, vanilla, and caramel flavors all together.

What do I do? Make a coffee cupcake with vanilla/caramel buttercream? Or the other way around? Or just vanilla buttercrean and drizzle caramel on top?

I don't even like coffee, so this is even more difficult for me. Any help or links to your favorite recipes is greatly appreciated. (I didn't really find
anything in the recipe section with good reviews.)

Thanks so much!

Oh, I forgot to mention, either mix based or scratch is fine. I have several boxes of French vanilla mix in the cabinet at the moment.

5 replies
jonahsmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jonahsmom Posted 11 Aug 2010 , 2:42am
post #2 of 6

I make caramel macchiato cupcakes (actually its my husband's favorite flavor). I don't know if you're a scratch or box person, but this is what I do.

DH Caramel cake mix
4 eggs
1/2 cup brewed coffee
1/2 cup caramel macchiato coffee creamer liquid
1/3 cup oil

For frosting, I make my regular buttercream recipe (a la Sugarshack!) For the liquid I substitute half brewed coffee and half caramel macchiato coffee creamer. If I'm making cupcakes I drizzle caramel on top. They are AMAZING!!!!

CakesByLJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakesByLJ Posted 11 Aug 2010 , 2:50pm
post #3 of 6

Here is how I made mine:
http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-photo_1626570.html

1 Betty Crocker french vanilla cake mix