I'm New

Decorating By LaDeeDah Updated 3 Aug 2010 , 9:47pm by LaDeeDah

LaDeeDah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaDeeDah Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 4:17pm
post #1 of 5

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Cake Central.... I just had a three day weekend and decided why not try to make one of them there fancy like cakes I see on television. I have a bit of a flair for being artsy fartsy, so I thought maybe I could try.

I like the fondant look, how it's very crisp and clean, smooth, and best of all edible. My problem is that I made mine from scratch and it got that elephant skin look after I applied it. It seemed crumbly and not very pliable. I think I didn't knead it enough.

THEN..

My second issue is the cake being level and looking symmetrical all around. I only bought a few tools from Michael's so I'm sure I need some more tools.... I was like cavewoman with a rock and stick here!

So...

My question is.... The crumbly fondant...what can a girl do?

And if anyone could give me a starter list of tools that i MUST HAVE to start practicing....

Oh and baking a level cake might not be a bad idea either..

Thanks a lot for everything in advance...

4 replies
mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 4:37pm
post #2 of 5

Welcome to cc. There are several threads on here to help with the issues that you're having. I suggest that you settle in for a few hours of reading thumbs_up.gif

As far as the "elephant skin" fondant. I don't know what recipe you're using but I use Michele Foster's recipe and it is absolutely the best fondant I have ever used. It taste wonderful as well. For workability and pliability it is 'hands down' the best I've ever used.

"Baking a level cake" is not something I can do....I level all of my cakes with a large bread knife. You can also buy cake levelers but my knife works fine for me. You can use one of those little cheap plastic levels, found in the
hardware department at Wal-Mart to make sure your cake is level.