Cleanliness Question

Decorating By jdavis22 Updated 23 Jan 2007 , 9:32pm by playingwithsugar

jdavis22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jdavis22 Posted 19 Jan 2007 , 8:52pm
post #1 of 26

I have been decorating cakes for about 6 years, but I've never ventured out into the fondant and gum paste. These are so hands on and hand intensive, that I'm wondering if all this is edible, and if so, how do you keep your decorations sanitary? Thanks!

25 replies
sinderella Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sinderella Posted 19 Jan 2007 , 9:01pm
post #2 of 26

easy, keep your hands clean, tools clean, work area clean and wipe down the table before you roll anything out on it just in case the dog licked it when you weren't looking ..LOL

cake-angel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cake-angel Posted 19 Jan 2007 , 9:02pm
post #3 of 26

The key is to keep your hands and work surfaces clean. I wash my hands frequently while working on cakes and decorations. Another option would be to use the food safe latex of plastic gloves while working. To me (I don't sell my cakes so far) proper handwashing is key.

HollyPJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HollyPJ Posted 19 Jan 2007 , 9:02pm
post #4 of 26

I just wash my hands a ton. And I keep my nails short. I don't think there's much more you can do than that.

I realize you're touching the fondant a lot, especially since you're kneading it, but people have been doing this for years with breads of every description as well as many other kinds of foods.

As long as you're cleaning dirt and germs off your hands and use sanitary kitchen practices in general, I don't think it's something to think about too much.

You can use gloves, if you want, but they can get in the way.

cordy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cordy Posted 19 Jan 2007 , 9:02pm
post #5 of 26