Needed To Share..what Do You Think?

Decorating By sberryp Updated 25 Jul 2010 , 4:16am by sberryp

sberryp Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sberryp Posted 24 Jul 2010 , 1:00am
post #1 of 24

The guy that fixed my hubby's care called on Wednesday night asking me to do a cake for a friend that was due today. icon_surprised.gif At first I told them no because I am a summer school teacher and did not have a lot of time to work on the cake. After the mom told me that she just got out of the hospital, I decided to do. I told her over the phone that she would have to give me a $20 deposit to make the cake. She agreed, only to come to my house with no money and a lot of demands. I forgot to tell you that I told her the price was going to be $48, she told me she only had $40. I agreed because I really just wanted to make a cake. That night she told me that she would have him drop the full payment off the next day, only for no one to show up. Here is where my first question comes..

Would you start a cake without a deposit?

I knew if I didn't start the cake, that I would not have finished it. Then I called to make sure that she wanted the cake she said yes and that she was sorry and that she would drop it off that night. I was up until 10:40 waiting on her only for her to tell me she couldn't do it. icon_mad.gif She told me that she would drop the payment off when she picked up the cake. I said ok (like always). My husband and his cousin kept telling me I wouldn't start the cake without the money. I decided to finish the cake. The lady was suppose to pick up the cake at 4:30, but she didn't show at that time, so I called.....

Why do I have to keep calling if they want the cake. I was happy that I made the cake, but was very upset about how the customer was acting.

Any suggestions? Thanks for reading and sorry for the long post.

Here's a link to the cake if you would like to see it..