How Do You Practice?

Decorating By lsmithbendor Updated 23 Jul 2010 , 5:56pm by mamawrobin

lsmithbendor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lsmithbendor Posted 23 Jul 2010 , 1:30pm
post #1 of 21

I'm a relative newbie - I took a Wilton class 20+ years ago, made a few cakes, and quit. About a year ago, my neice said, I remember the bd cake you made for my 10th bd...please make my wedding cake! It was quite an adventure, LOL. So in the last year I've been playing with cake. I really have NO desire to do a business - this is art/fun to me...I want to be able to make NICE cakes for birthdays and I have four children and it would be awesome to make their wedding cakes...

currently I make a couple cakes a month to play...I'm thinking about making a sheet cake once a week to just play with technique, bag pressure, icing consistency...but I'm curious...how do other people do it?

How did YOU practice your cake technique? Thanks for all replies...Lisa in Oregon icon_biggrin.gif

20 replies
bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 23 Jul 2010 , 1:40pm
post #2 of 21

If it's buttercream I want to practice, flip the cake pan over and make up a batch of decorator icing in the consistency your buttercream will be. Then decorate the pan! icon_biggrin.gif

Thanksharla Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Thanksharla Posted 23 Jul 2010 , 1:45pm
post #3 of 21

I try to use a new technique on every cake I do, whether it be covering it in fondant or buttercream.

I did recently receive my cake dummies in the mail but haven't taken the time to go to the store to get the ingredients I need for frosting.

dragonfli Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dragonfli Posted 23 Jul 2010 , 2:04pm
post #4 of 21