Caking With Small Children????

Decorating By Cindsters Updated 19 Jul 2010 , 10:45am by Caths_Cakes

Cindsters Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cindsters Posted 17 Jul 2010 , 3:36am
post #1 of 16

I'm new to decorating and everytime I try to practice, my small children (ages 3 and 4) have to put their noses in my mix, supplies, cakes ETC. Does anyone have advise on any tips to keep them at arms length without squashing their enthusiasm? I want them to grow up with good baking memories but at the same time, I need to concentrate. Any tips would be appreciated.

15 replies
hilly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hilly Posted 17 Jul 2010 , 3:41am
post #2 of 16

Mine are 3, 3 and 6 and find it's best to cake when they are asleep icon_biggrin.gif . But if they're awake, they're more than happy just to pour one or two ingredients or crack an egg, then lick a beater . icon_razz.gif While I'm doing fondant, if they are in my hair I give them a couple of small pieces and some cutters and they go to town.

Smashme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smashme Posted 17 Jul 2010 , 3:59am
post #3 of 16

i'm with hilly, i do my baking during nap time and decoration at bed time. if i'm in a hurry and they have to be there during....i get out desposable bags and a little icing, or fondant and cutters.

Cindsters Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cindsters Posted 17 Jul 2010 , 4:44am
post #4 of 16

Thank you for the tips!! I guess I'm in for a few late nights decorating but it's worth it.

leafO Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leafO Posted 17 Jul 2010 , 4:48am
post #5 of 16

I'm right there with you, my oldest is 3 and just stopped taking naps! icon_eek.gif

I usually do the same as the others and let him stir or give him a piece of fondant to play with, He thinks it's the best kind of play-doh ever! icon_smile.gif

elvisb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elvisb Posted 17 Jul 2010 , 5:20am
post #6 of 16