Can You Help Me Price A Cake Tonight?

Decorating By amyhntr2 Updated 28 Jun 2010 , 12:02pm by amyhntr2

amyhntr2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amyhntr2 Posted 28 Jun 2010 , 3:35am
post #1 of 8

Hi everyone
I am very new to cake making. This is only the fourth one I've decorated and I haven't had a chance to figure out the pricing matrixes in the stickies (which btw thank you sooo much for sharing those!)
My fil has an event tomorrow where he can serve one of my cakes and I can get a little exposure as I try to get into cake decorating. I figured on just donating it so that I could get some more decorating practice and also get some advertising in exchange but he also wants me to price it in case someone wants to buy it or might want to order another like it. I just finished decorating tonight and need helping with the pricing for tomorrow.

Material costs:
2 cake mix $.98x2
powdered sugar 1.72
marshmallows 1.00
3 tubs frosting 1.32x3

=8.64

I don't really know what to charge for my time at this point since I feel like I'm still practicing for the most part and not really professional. (Also it's hard to say how long I spent on it. I have a one year old so I just squeezed in the time while i could)

I baked the cakes, leveled and torted, filled layers with buttercream, iced, covered in fondant, made all the flowers and decorations.

I would appreciate your help as I continue on this journey icon_biggrin.gif

eta:sorry the pic isn't high quality. it's from my phone and all I had the capability of posting tonight
LL

7 replies
donnlara Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
donnlara Posted 28 Jun 2010 , 4:13am
post #2 of 8

You didn't mention the sizes of the tiers, which is what I use to calculate prices. I am pretty new to the biz and am still building my client base, and I found that I had to come up with a pricing plan right off the bat, so that I was being consistent and fair to myself for my efforts.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile