Needing Your Opinions

Decorating By LittleFox09 Updated 25 Jun 2010 , 4:25pm by yummy

LittleFox09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LittleFox09 Posted 24 Jun 2010 , 2:37pm
post #1 of 11

I am making a cake for a friends birthday in 2 weeks. Its nothing "spectacular" but I would like for the cake to be made from scratch. So here's the plan that came to me at 5am this morning. 2-9" square layers stacked offset. The top layer is chocolate and the bottom layer is strawberry. Now Im just stuck as far as what I should fill them with. Any ideas???? Im still new to the decorating world so I dont have many filling ideas. Lol. Thanks for your help! icon_biggrin.gif

10 replies
yummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummy Posted 24 Jun 2010 , 3:33pm
post #2 of 11

Welcome to cc LittleFox09!

Banana bc, banana is delicious with chocolate and strawberry. You could also do vanilla then it would be a neopolitan cake.

You said 2 9" layers stacked offset. You mean 2 chocolate cakes filled and 2 strawberry cakes filled then stacked offset? You wrote it (and I read it ) like you want 1 layer of chocolate and 1 layer of strawberry each torted and filled then stacked offset (that would be a short two tiered cake). You can do 1 layer of chocolate cake, banana bc filling and then a layer of strawberry cake but that will be 1 two layer cake, you can't offset that.

Maybe I'm reading this wrong, if so I apologize. Since your a newbie I just want to make sure I'm understanding what you wrote so I can give you accurate information. HTH

msthang1224 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msthang1224 Posted 24 Jun 2010 , 3:49pm
post #3 of 11

Hi, chocolate cake is very delicious with raspberry filling, I love it. As far as your strawberry cake goes, I like vanilla buttercream but, I'm sure the others on here will give you some more great choices to choose from. HTH

LittleFox09 Posted 24 Jun 2010 , 3:56pm
post #4 of 11