Serving Sizes Again.....sorry

Decorating By SISA Updated 28 Jun 2010 , 7:27am by JaimeAnn

SISA Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SISA Posted 18 Jun 2010 , 12:37pm
post #1 of 11

I am a home baker and really just do this for family and friends so I don't have alot of experience with halls & restaurants. I have a shower cake to do that the hall will be cutting and serving. If I read the Party cake chart I would need a 12,10 & 8 square for 100 people and if I read the Wedding cake chart that will serve roughly 154 people. I need this cake to serve apprx. 100 people. I am not sure what to bake. That seems like alot of cake for 100 people. Any opinions would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks!!!!

10 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 18 Jun 2010 , 1:51pm
post #2 of 11

I use the wedding servings for all my cakes no matter what the occasion is for. A 6/8/10 square would give you 100 1.5x2x4 in servings

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 18 Jun 2010 , 2:08pm
post #3 of 11

Ummm, Texas, the wedding serving size is 1 X 2 X 4.

matthewkyrankelly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
matthewkyrankelly Posted 18 Jun 2010 , 2:16pm
post #4 of 11

Two things about this:

Go by wedding sizes. That should be your standard. Make the cake you need.

Also, since this is for friends and family, I sometimes find it easier to decorate a larger cake with little increased expense. And, friends and family have never complained about extra cake. The 'extra' is the 10" square that my circle would fight over like pit bulls.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 18 Jun 2010 , 2:21pm
post #5 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by leah_s

Ummm, Texas, the wedding serving size is 1 X 2 X 4.

Opps, that's what I meant. I'm not completely awake yet.

SISA Posted 18 Jun 2010 , 6:05pm
post #6 of 11