What Can I Use To Paint The Perfect Gold/silver On Fondant??

Decorating By QueenDisney20 Updated 7 Jul 2010 , 7:42pm by mandymakescakes

QueenDisney20 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
QueenDisney20 Posted 7 Jun 2010 , 9:26pm
post #1 of 9

Hello there! I am new to cake central and cake decorating and I have a question... I read in a lot of books on gold or silver fondant roses. They say to use edible gold powder, etc. Where can I find a good edible gold to paint with that is used for a gold coin, suitcase buckle, etc.? Thanks so much!! icon_rolleyes.gif
p.s. I didn't mention that I have heard of too many...There is luster dust, shimmer dust, pearl dust, edible chalk, food coloring, paste, non-toxic paint. Which is a good one to actually make it look like real gold?? Thanks so much!!

8 replies
catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 7 Jun 2010 , 10:16pm
post #2 of 9

I use gold or silver luster dust mixed with a tiny bit of vodka. You want to come up to a paint consistancy and no thinner. It also may take a few coats to get a deep enough finish to look like real gold or silver.

BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 7 Jun 2010 , 10:27pm
post #3 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by QueenDisney20

Hello there! I am new to cake central and cake decorating and I have a question... I read in a lot of books on gold or silver fondant roses. They say to use edible gold powder, etc. Where can I find a good edible gold to paint with that is used for a gold coin, suitcase buckle, etc.? Thanks so much!! icon_rolleyes.gif
p.s. I didn't mention that I have heard of too many...There is luster dust, shimmer dust, pearl dust, edible chalk, food coloring, paste, non-toxic paint. Which is a good one to actually make it look like real gold?? Thanks so much!!