How Do I Make Roses Out Of A Softer Buttercream?

Decorating By kelsiedelizzle Updated 4 Jun 2010 , 12:13am by LindaF144a

kelsiedelizzle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelsiedelizzle Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 3:17pm
post #1 of 10

I tried to find the answer, but can't find anything clear-cut yet.

I know the best method for rose-making (well, for me, at least) is to use a firm icing that hasn't been thinned down.

But what about when I use a softer consistency? Is there some trick that I don't know? Or should I just practice more? My roses look droopy and kinda sad, but I've seen people make some gorgeous soft-icing roses before.

Help?

Thanks!
Kelsie

9 replies
KayMc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KayMc Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 3:29pm
post #2 of 10

I'm no expert, but I think you'll need to add sugar to make it more firm.

Mikel79 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mikel79 Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 4:53pm
post #3 of 10

You have to stiffen your icing with PS. A helpful hint when making BC roses......use Hershey Kisses as your center!!! It works AMAZINGLY.

HTH..

Michael

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 5:15pm
post #4 of 10

Agree. You need stiffer icing. Period.

Unlimited Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Unlimited Posted 3 Jun 2010 , 1:04am
post #5 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caketeen09

I know the best method for rose-making (well, for me, at least) is to use a firm icing that hasn't been thinned down.

I'd continue doing what works best for you (and the rest of us) by using your firm icing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by caketeen09

But what about when I use a softer consistency? Is there some trick that I don't know? Or should I just practice more? My roses look droopy and kinda sad, but I've seen people make some gorgeous soft-icing roses before.