How Do I Get My Mmf To Look Smooth On My Cake?

Decorating By DivaWeava Updated 18 May 2010 , 8:37pm by DivaWeava

DivaWeava Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DivaWeava Posted 13 May 2010 , 1:38am
post #1 of 9

Hello All!

So this is my very first post, as I am new to CC. I love decorating cakes, and finally got up the nerve to try fondant. I have been reading about how great MMF is, and how easy it is to manipulate.

I made my first 3 cakes, and I felt that the fondant turned out fantastic. It was easy to knead, roll, and cover the cakes. However, I found that once on the cakes, the fondant seemed to bubble up in certain areas, or that you could see every little detail from the cake underneath.

I am wondering if it is simply the buttercream I used, as it was very soft and easy to spread, if I am doing something wrong when placing the fondant on the cake, or if MMF isn't the way to go when seeking perfection in the appearance of the cakes.

Any of your tips are greatly appreciated, as I have two orders to fill within the next two weeks. I want to be sure to provide cakes with a flawless finish!

icon_smile.gif

8 replies
Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 13 May 2010 , 1:54am
post #2 of 9

Do you have any pics? That would help us see what your issue may be. All of the fondant cakes in my pics are done with MMF - and they are smooth as silk....how thick are you rolling it? How much buttercream is on the cake under the fondant? The more info you give us, the more we can help!

(and welcome to CC!!) icon_smile.gif

DivaWeava Posted 13 May 2010 , 2:03am
post #3 of 9

I do have pictures. I am having trouble getting them off of my camera and onto my computer! (0: The cakes actually looked pretty good, and I don't think that the pictures really showed too many of the imperfections.