How Much Is It Worth?

Business By knight21 Updated 12 May 2010 , 1:50pm by cakesdivine

knight21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
knight21 Posted 11 May 2010 , 8:27pm
post #1 of 7

I am interested in purchasing a cake decorating shop that I have been volunteering at for a few months now. The shop does not bake the cakes, it strictly just decorates, which i have every intention of changing! I have the taxes from last year and want a few opinions on how to determine a fair price for the shop.

6 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 11 May 2010 , 8:55pm
post #2 of 7

It buys pre-made cakes and decorates them, like a grocery store?

Are you buying The Business or are you buying the equipment and then when they vacate the space, you'll sign a new lease with the landlord? There's a big difference.

If buying the business, what assets, other than the equipment, are you buying? Do they have long term contracts in place? Are you buying the accounts payable AND receivables? Does their name and reputation have value that will enhance your sales?

If the answer is no to the above questions, then you should treat it as buying used equipment .... as in "what's it worth on ebay?"

BeanCountingBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BeanCountingBaker Posted 11 May 2010 , 9:15pm
post #3 of 7

What other business information is available to you? There are some big pieces of the picture that are not shown on tax forms. Don't forget to factor insurance costs, and permits and licenses into your plans. Indydebi makes a great point, are you purchasing debt owed to existing suppliers? Is the existing customer base and other less tangible property included and is it worth paying money for these items. It might be profitable to allow the current business to close, purchase the equipment and open as your own business.

knight21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
knight21 Posted 11 May 2010 , 11:05pm
post #4 of 7