Time Saving Tips

Decorating By fsinger84 Updated 10 May 2010 , 5:03pm by SecretAgentCakeBaker

fsinger84 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fsinger84 Posted 10 May 2010 , 2:50pm
post #1 of 2

I was wondering if we could get a discussion going on any tips/techniques you all use in your bakeries to save time/reduce labor costs. I would also be interested in knowing if there are things you do to break up baking into smaller tasks instead of doing everything at one time.

I worled on my own making cupcakes for the farmers market and man they took forever! I made 16doz in two days but I want to work on streamlining the process and doing a bit at a time each day instead of all in two days. I am a scratch baker and baking from a mix isnt an option for me at the moment.

I was also wondering if it is possible to make my scratch mixes ahead of time. Like just measure out all dry ingredients and put them in zip loc bags and then just resift them right before I use them or will that damage the ingredients?

All tips would be appreciated!

1 reply
SecretAgentCakeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SecretAgentCakeBaker Posted 10 May 2010 , 5:03pm
post #2 of 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by fsinger84

Like just measure out all dry ingredients and put them in zip loc bags and then just resift them right before I use them or will that damage the ingredients?

The less you touch something, the more time you save. Either sift before putting in the bags, or sift when you empty the bag out. Also, instead of sifting, I have started to just stir everything with the whisk attachment for a minute or two. Works great for me (not for powdered sugar though.) If you are doing the sale very week, I don't see any problem with measuring out all of your dry ingredients for a month or two at a time.