Using An Airbrush.

Decorating By lildragon Updated 9 May 2010 , 10:29pm by Enchantin-Cakes

lildragon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lildragon Posted 7 May 2010 , 2:34am
post #1 of 11

I've been cake decorating for family and friends for a year now, and last Christmas, by husband bought me an airbrush gun. I've been a little scared to use it just because I've never used one before. I want to know if there are any basics I should know, like do I need to dilute the airbrush gels or can I just use them straight out of the bottle, do I need do airbrush in a large room due to over-spray, and just basic information. I want to practice soon, so that I can make my niece's birthday cake. Also, how do I get the glitter effect? Do they make glitter airbrush colors, or do I mix in something. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

10 replies
icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 7 May 2010 , 3:01am
post #2 of 11

hi, i only use air brush colors in my airbrush system. which is a kopykake airmaster. That is what i was told to do. For the sheen look, i use Americolor airbrush sheen colors. Or Lucks airbrush sheen colors. I practiced with coloring books. Printed paper towels. Bought Frances Kuyper's dvd, and books,etc. bought carol faxons books, bought Roland
Winbecklers books, etc. there are so many on line that you can purchase. i just played and taught myself with all this help. you can, cut out a front from a big box and surrond it around your airbrush for overspray, etc. hth

lildragon Posted 7 May 2010 , 3:04am
post #3 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by icer101

hi, i only use air brush colors in my airbrush system. which is a kopykake airmaster. That is what i was told to do. For the sheen look, i use Americolor airbrush sheen colors. Or Lucks airbrush sheen colors. I practiced with coloring books. Printed paper towels. Bought Frances Kuyper's dvd, and books,etc. bought carol faxons books, bought Roland