Cake Boards - Covering

Decorating By cupcakeshelley Updated 14 Apr 2010 , 11:19pm by momma28

cupcakeshelley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakeshelley Posted 9 Apr 2010 , 5:31pm
post #1 of 12

Hi all - I am only starting out and never really covered cake boards before. I have seen a lot of people using wrapping paper to cover their boards - so my question is: - can you just put your sponge cake on top of the wrapping paper or do you have to put something else between the wrapping paper and sponge cake?

I am thinking that putting the sponge directly onto the wrapping paper, is mostly likely going to make the wrapping paper go really wet over time?

Thanks in advance x x

11 replies
Kimmers971 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kimmers971 Posted 9 Apr 2010 , 5:40pm
post #2 of 12

You'd need a barrier between the cake and wrapping paper. Personally I use freezer paper to cover my boards (shiny side up).

eccl1-12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eccl1-12 Posted 9 Apr 2010 , 5:54pm
post #3 of 12

Another thing you can do is cover a cake board in fondant and put ribbon around the edge. Also, either way, you can put your cake on a smaller board that is the same size as your cake (you can buy these at Michaels) and then when you get it frosted you can easilly tape or stick with a bit of Royal Icing the smaller board onto the decorated base and go ahead then and finish the decorating/edging. Hope that helps!

beth1819 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beth1819 Posted 9 Apr 2010 , 6:10pm
post #4 of 12

I use white contact paper for my boards. I know it is not specifically "food grade" but it has worked perfectly. I have even been able to use some of the colors for special occasions!

cricket0616 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cricket0616 Posted 9 Apr 2010 , 6:15pm
post #5 of 12