Fondant Icing A Round Cake

Decorating By green_goddess Updated 8 Apr 2010 , 11:21am by Marianna46

green_goddess Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
green_goddess Posted 7 Apr 2010 , 7:50pm
post #1 of 5

Hi, I am very new at this & did my first cake over the weekend for a friends birthday. It turned out ok in the end but I had a nerve wracking moment & wondered if anyone knew where I went wrong!

I did 2 x 8" rounds of vanilla madeira sponge cake sandwiched together with vanilla buttercream & jam.

Buttercream the whole of the cake on the outside ready for the fondant to go on top. I did this quite thick.

Fondant icing was very pliable so didnt need to knead this too much & rolled out very smoothly.

When it came to applying to the fondant it instantly started to tear & buttercream was coming through. Whilst trying to smooth it onto the cake it felt like it was disintegrating.

Couldnt save it so had to take it off & start again but this time removed excess buttercream. Still creased the icing so need more practice with that.

I'm a bit confused though as been reading on here & watching video clips on YouTube & some people advise to allow the buttercream to dry out & go crusty & others say the opposite! Also, I noticed majority are smoothing out heaps of buttercream onto the cake!

Whats best for fondant icing a round cake? Any tips welcome!

Thanks

4 replies
catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 7 Apr 2010 , 8:03pm
post #2 of 5