Smoothing Fondant!

Decorating By SCbyWhit Updated 26 Mar 2010 , 12:26am by Evoir

SCbyWhit Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SCbyWhit Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 10:36pm
post #1 of 12

Ok all you professional cake people out there...
I've been working with fondant for the past 2 years and I STILL can't figure out how to avoid these wrinkles (shown below) at the bottom of my cakes.

HOW do I avoid these??? I've tried changing fondant brands, kneading out my fondant enough to reach that nice piable stage but not TOO much, etc etc. It's really frustrating me, and all my reading on it isn't helping.
Thanks!
LL

11 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 11:23pm
post #2 of 12

Is this occuring immediately or later on after the cake has sat covered for a while?

Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 11:28pm
post #3 of 12

Hmmm, it looks like elephant skin to me. I find that elevating the cake on top of something small helps. Also, this happens when I work(roll) too long and my fondant tends to dry a bit.

SCbyWhit Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SCbyWhit Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 11:45pm
post #4 of 12

it's definitely happening immediately. it's almost like the fondant just has nowhere to go, so i have to let it bunch up at the bottom. I do have a REALLY bad rolling pin, so rolling it out too long could be the problem. If you have any other suggestions, let me know!

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 25 Mar 2010 , 12:10am
post #5 of 12

What do you sit your cake on when you put the fondant on? Is it sitting flat on the table or counter? I elevate mine like Rylan said so that the fondant falls away from the cake at the bottom. For instance, if I'm covering an 8 inch cake I will set it on a 6 inch baking pan so that it's not flush with the counter. Hope this makes sense. I'm not very good at explaing things icon_smile.gif

Evoir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile