New Position At Work

Lounge By d3sc3n7 Updated 31 Mar 2010 , 2:44am by d3sc3n7

d3sc3n7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
d3sc3n7 Posted 23 Mar 2010 , 8:44am
post #1 of 10

Well, for the back story....I'm an army cook. I do side work in specialty cakes, as some of you may have seen around here.

Well, the people I work with know what I do. So I've been moved to whats called "night baker" Man oh man! Its a job I've been wanting for a while now, however its quite the work load. The stuff we put out isnt fancy by any means...its quantity, quantity, quantity.

Tonight I went in at 6pm and got off about 330am. Though I didnt really get to start until 8pm.

The total run for the night?

1200 Muffins
17 Sheet cakes

That will get them through today. Back in tonight, to do it all over again!!

Well, on the upside I do get total freedom on what type of cake/muffin I make. The old guy got fired because he was putting out very sub-standard products. So, I kinda lucked into the job, because someone wanted to be lazy.

Just to mention, I am at least working with a 6ft combi-oven and a rather large mixer.

9 replies
Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 23 Mar 2010 , 2:51pm
post #2 of 10

Congrats on the new position! Have fun with it, and I am sure the folks that get to eat the products will be glad to have you there for sure! icon_biggrin.gif

rosiecast Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rosiecast Posted 23 Mar 2010 , 3:30pm
post #3 of 10

Congrats!!

d3sc3n7 Posted 23 Mar 2010 , 4:58pm
post #4 of 10

Thanks guys, I do enjoy it. I'm hoping things change, because the people who get them are quick to complain when things are bad, but have no problem staying quiet when they are good. Oh well...they are good when I "test" them icon_biggrin.gif

JulieMN Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JulieMN Posted 23 Mar 2010 , 11:47pm
post #5 of 10

Congratulations!

redpanda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
redpanda Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 1:00am
post #6 of 10