Can I Replace Soy Milk For Regular Milk To = Dairy Free?

Baking By Roxybc Updated 20 Mar 2010 , 11:46pm by rainbow_kisses

Roxybc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Roxybc Posted 20 Mar 2010 , 4:10pm
post #1 of 11

I've had a request to make 60 cupcakes, but they need to be dairy free. That means, no butter in the buttercream icing, and no milk in the batter. The cupcake recipe I use normally calls for milk and oil as the liquids, so do you think it would be ok if I just substituted soy milk for the regular milk? I've never used or even tasted soy milk before, so not sure if it will effect the flavor of the finished product. Also, if anyone else has any really good dairy free recipes from scratch that they're willing to share or tips it would be greatly appreciated!!!

Oh, and for the buttercream, I was going to use a combination of sunflower oil spread and a UK version of Crisco, which is basically solid vegetable shortening. Will this turn out ok?

Thanks!

10 replies
OMGitsaLisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
OMGitsaLisa Posted 20 Mar 2010 , 4:39pm
post #2 of 11

The vegetable oil spread sounds gross, but I've never tried it so I'm imagining it as regular margarine here in the States. When I can't use butter, I use straight vegetable shortening and imitation butter flavor - I'd obviously prefer butter, but sometimes it's not possible.

As for the milk, I only use soy milk in my baking since I'm lactose intolerant and that's all I have on hand and it turns out fine for me.

Tug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tug Posted 20 Mar 2010 , 5:05pm
post #3 of 11

Be careful and ask the recipient if they can have soy milk first. I make a cake for a little boy that can't have dairy or soy. I use rice milk instead. As for the frosting, I just use Crisco (vegtable shortening), powder sugar and flavorings.
Good luck

Roxybc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Roxybc Posted 20 Mar 2010 , 6:57pm
post #4 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMGitsaLisa