How I Made The Horse Cake

Decorating By CakeWelder Updated 22 Mar 2010 , 5:46am by CakeWelder

CakeWelder Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeWelder Posted 19 Mar 2010 , 8:17am
post #1 of 8

Being a steel fabricator by profession I have a good working knowledge of tools and different media that most would not think to use in cake construction.
A little side note about me; I look at a cake project as a contractor looks at blueprints. I for lack of a better term build cakes, referring to the structure and the outside appearance. I am in no way a chef or profess to be any thing but a recipe follower. Duncan Heinz and Betty Crocker are good friends of mine. Which is one of the reasons I am here is to learn more of the cake side of this art.

The horse was a challenge but one that I felt that I could pull off because I had done molds before just not with chocolate.

First you need to get a good latex mold making media usually art stores have this as a standard item. The trick is building up thin layers for the first three or four coats then you can start putting thicker coats on. I did eight or ten I cannot remember now but it was nice and thick.

The reason being is that it has to be able to withstand the removal process as well as supporting itself without the horse in it. To remove complex shapes you must cut the latex, in this case I had to cut the mold in six pieces, four legs and two halves of the body.

The other reason that cutting is necessary is because you have to wrap the mold in plaster to support the weight of the chocolate, and plaster doesn't bend like latex does. As you can see from the pictures the latex is for the detailed shape and the plaster is for the strength.