Blotchy Icing

Baking By messy1 Updated 1 Apr 2010 , 5:03am by luv2bake6

messy1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
messy1 Posted 19 Mar 2010 , 12:24am
post #1 of 12

I know this has probably been discussed before but I am new at all this cookie decorating. I use the corn syrup, powder sugar icing recipe (Toba's style)but when it dries the icing gets blotchy. Dark in places and light in others. Can anyone tell me if they have conquered this problem. Do you use water or milk in the recipe, mixer or by hand? I have tried just about everything and nothing seems to matter....thanks bunches.

11 replies
JenniferAtwood Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JenniferAtwood Posted 19 Mar 2010 , 1:15am
post #2 of 12

Could you be overheating your icing?

GeminiRJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GeminiRJ Posted 19 Mar 2010 , 2:10am
post #3 of 12

Generally, I'll have this problem only when it's cold in the house while the icing is drying. I'm also wondering if by stacking the "naked" cookies on top of each other, it affects the icing when I go to decorate. I did some cookies recently, and the ones that got stacked dried splotchy. The ones that were not stacked dried with a perfect finish. Same batch of icing. Just considering it as a cause.

luv2bake6 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luv2bake6 Posted 19 Mar 2010 , 10:42pm
post #4 of 12

Did you add white food color to the batch? It makes a huge difference as well.

messy1 Posted 23 Mar 2010 , 2:02am
post #5 of 12