Interesting Day For A Plant/cake Guy!

Decorating By handsomepants Updated 15 Mar 2010 , 4:35am by handsomepants

handsomepants Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
handsomepants Posted 13 Mar 2010 , 8:21am
post #1 of 6

I'm an interiorscaper/horticultrualist by trade and own a company which maintains indoor plants for offices and such. Today, I was out drumming up business and following-up on a referral with a management company of a historic building downtown. I gave them my sales pitch about plants, which was kinda squashed by the reply that they are VERY pleased with the current plant company they have a contract with. They did, however, suggest I take a look at another building they manage and give them a bid on that one instead. GREAT! Got what I came for!

Anyway, I'm not sure how we got on the subject, but I mentioned that I also do cakes on the side. This REALLY got their attention, and I quickly whipped out my iPhone and showed them my cake photos on my blog. I also had one of the ladies look up Cake Central and check out my photos on there as well while we were talking! icon_biggrin.gif

The more we talked, the more excited they got. The subject quickly turned to the building's 100th anniversary celebration they are planning for next year, and how awesome it would be to have a cake of the building for the party/celebration. They asked if I would do something like that, and I said "SURE"! We talked about the whole thing for about 15-20 minutes, and I seriously got jazzed about the idea and prospect of doing such a MAJOR cake!