To Make Or To Cop Out And Buy?

Decorating By DefyGravity Updated 8 Mar 2010 , 5:16pm by DefyGravity

DefyGravity Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DefyGravity Posted 6 Mar 2010 , 1:25pm
post #1 of 19

A good friend of mine is having a small wedding reception in a few weeks (military guy, so everything is last minute... I'm a military wife so I totally get this) and has asked me to make her cake. She really helped me out once when nobody else would, so there's no part of me that wants to say no to her. But, I'm scared to death of the flowers she wants.

I've never done them before, and while they don't *look* particularly overwhelming, they're pretty much the focal point on the cake and I don't want to mess it up. Should I swing for the fences and attempt these, going outside my decorating box and expanding my horizons, or should I just purchase them to ensure that she has a nice looking cake?

This is the cake she wants:

18 replies
DefyGravity Posted 6 Mar 2010 , 1:29pm
post #2 of 19

I will add that the reception is on the 27th. I just started my Spring Break, so I basically have a week off and a great deal of time to practice the flowers (I had planned to decorate a dummy cake anyway, so there was already plenty of cake time built into my schedule)

I guess I'm really suffering from a huge lack of confidence, and I don't want to see my creation end up on Cake Wrecks, haha.

Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 6 Mar 2010 , 1:31pm
post #3 of 19

Well..since you don't have alot of time and flowers like these can't be rushed..I would probably go ahead and buy them for this cake.Unless you have ever done gumpaste flowers before, they are alot of work and patience and take along time to learn and master.

DefyGravity Posted 6 Mar 2010 , 1:43pm
post #4 of 19

Is there a different kind of flower that would be easier for me to try that would have a similar effect?

erinalicia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile