Maybe An Emergency..advice?? What Do I Do???

Decorating By Spuddysmom Updated 8 Mar 2010 , 3:46am by Melvira

Spuddysmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Spuddysmom Posted 5 Mar 2010 , 10:10pm
post #1 of 37

First of all, I am a hobby baker.
Dropped off a great looking cake for my husband's office this morning. One of the co-workers is leaving for a big promotion, she is very special so he asked me for the cake. Okay, the potential catastrophe: Last night, long after making the cake, I got a little intestinal "twinge", figured something I ate didn't "set right"; no biggie. I just had this horrible thought - what if it is from the filling I put in the cake?? I samples it after putting the cake up. I did a variation of KHalsted's recipe of 1 small pkg instant pudding and 1/3 cup milk (instead of 1 cup) and about 8 cps. whipped bettercreme (instead of 2 cups. liquid). That should be okay, right? if not, this is the really awful part: there are going to be over 100 people there, it is in the Courthouse for the Prosecuting Attorney, and I cannot contact anyone until I arrive (no phones). I can't get there for an hour, and the party will have started....oh please, someone tell me it will be okay........

36 replies
icingimages Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icingimages Posted 5 Mar 2010 , 10:16pm
post #2 of 37

its fine. there are intestinal things going on. Chances are if you are moving around, its not food poisening, its a viral thing. food poisening knocks you out for the count.

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 5 Mar 2010 , 10:27pm
post #3 of 37

Couldn't find any recipes listed by KHalstead in CC's recipe section, and I'm not familiar with that recipe...

Did you NOT refrigerate the cake?

If not, the sugar in the instant pudding isn't adequate to control the water activity in the 1/3 cup of milk you added.