Home Made Gumpaste Question

Decorating By kjt Updated 21 Jan 2007 , 1:28pm by mamacc

kjt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kjt Posted 18 Jan 2007 , 3:57pm
post #1 of 19

Hello to all you gumpaste professionals,
I made a batch of gumpaste last night using the recipe that calls for egg whites, Tylose and powdered sugar. It seemed VERY soft-should I be worried?!? icon_confused.gif
TIA,
Kathy

18 replies
JulieBugg2000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JulieBugg2000 Posted 18 Jan 2007 , 4:02pm
post #2 of 19

I am by NO means a gumpaste professional, and in fact, I've never mastered the art of making my own gumpaste either lol. Maybe someone can help because I'd like to know too.

I did end up just buying it premade and I love it, so if worse comes to worse......

Sugarbunz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugarbunz Posted 18 Jan 2007 , 4:28pm
post #3 of 19

Not an expert either, but how soft are you defining as soft? I buy the wilton powdered mix (Tylose is impossible to find it seems and Gum-tex is pricey); but it's usually pretty soft (like fondant) when it is first made. Leave a small piece out and see how it hardens.

kjt Posted 18 Jan 2007 , 4:36pm
post #4 of 19

Soft like ummmmm-somewhere between bread dough and SatinIce, not as stiff as the Wilton fondant.
Okay, if I leave out a piece and it doesn't harden is all lost? Or can I maybe knead in additional powdered sugar?
Thanks, y'all.

FuturamaFanatic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FuturamaFanatic Posted 18 Jan 2007 , 4:37pm
post #5 of 19

I've made the Tylose, egg whites & sugar recipe many times (I don't really like it though) I've found it to be really soft just after you make it, I'm pretty sure you should let it sit for a while before you use it. I just remember it being really really really really stiff after it sits for a day or so and hating it because you have to knead piles of Crisco iinto it.

kjt Posted 18 Jan 2007 , 5:06pm
post #6 of 19

oh noooooooooooo icon_sad.gif