Calling On All Ya'll For Ideas And Inspiration!!

Decorating By Donnabugg Updated 9 Feb 2010 , 2:19am by Donnabugg

Donnabugg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Donnabugg Posted 1 Feb 2010 , 3:47am
post #1 of 12

Okay fellow CC'ers I'm thinking about entering a (amateur) cake contest at an upcoming festival. I'm a newbie so I'm asking for any and all ideas. I've attached a link to the festival so you can get an idea of theme and such. A few things I can think of would be to do some sort of plaque with the logo on it. There's also a "belle" court so I was thinking of doing maybe 3 or 4 belle dresses out of gumpaste. Maybe a "Miss Azalea" sash and most importantly figure out how to make azaleas. What do you think? Thanks ahead of time for your input! icon_wink.gif

http://www.ncazaleafestival.org/
LL

11 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 1 Feb 2010 , 3:49am
post #2 of 12

What about doing one of the historic homes in Wilmington?

Donnabugg Posted 1 Feb 2010 , 3:49am
post #3 of 12

Dresses
LL

JanJess Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanJess Posted 1 Feb 2010 , 4:12am
post #4 of 12

What about making a "parade float" with flowers and a couple of "belles" sitting on the float with the logo on the sides or front and back HTH

mabryant0212 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mabryant0212 Posted 1 Feb 2010 , 4:12am
post #5 of 12

I am not good enough to enter something like this but I did a cake a while back of a babydoll in a pound cake and sculpted a dress around it. you could do something like that and do the southern belle dresses.... I will attach a picture. I would use a doll form without the head so the dress gets all the attention.
LL
LL
LL

JustToEatCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JustToEatCake Posted 1 Feb 2010 , 4:45am
post #6 of 12