2 Tier Cakes! Newbie Help :)

Decorating By Fudgemallow Updated 8 Aug 2013 , 4:26pm by tealeafs

Fudgemallow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Fudgemallow Posted 29 Jan 2010 , 7:18pm
post #1 of 15

Hi im new to cake baking, although i have made simple cakes before im now expanding my skills and trying new things!

Im making a 2 tiered cake for my boyfriend next tuesday and preparing all the decorations tomorrow(saturday)

What would like to know is do you have to use dowels/straws and a cake base to stack a 2 tiered cake? I dont have dowels or those plastic straws and i dont have a shop near me that sells them. I would have to order online but they wouldnt come in time!
I only found out tonight that you needed to use dowels and cake boards when making a 2 tiered cake, if i had found out sooner i would have been more prepared!

What would happen if i didnt stack it with the dowels and board?
Thanks for any help, its most appreciated and so sorry for a stupid question, if i dont ask i wont learn icon_smile.gif

Thanks again icon_biggrin.gif

14 replies
greengyrl26 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
greengyrl26 Posted 29 Jan 2010 , 7:27pm
post #2 of 15

YES...you have to use dowels or straws or something...it's the only way to support the top tier. The weight will be too much for the bottom tier without them and it will look all "smooshy" and have cracked fondant.

Use BBQ skewers from the grocery store. That's what I use. They already have a nice pointy edge and they're cheaper than regular dowels. Just trim to fit.

icon_smile.gif

prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 29 Jan 2010 , 7:31pm
post #3 of 15

If you don't use the board and dowels, the weight of the top cake will squash the bottom cake and the entire thing will collapse.

You can make your own cake board. Get a piece of sturdy cardboard and trace the pan to get the size you need. Cut it out and then cover with Glad Press-n-Seal Wrap.