Shortening O_O

Decorating By sugar_room Updated 5 Jan 2010 , 12:32am by sugar_room

sugar_room Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugar_room Posted 5 Jan 2010 , 12:06am
post #1 of 5

hi everybody! icon_biggrin.gif
It's my first post in this lovely forum and I have got a question I hope you can help me with icon_rolleyes.gif

I already have some experience with baking cakes and decoration ( thanks mom! icon_rolleyes.gif ) - although I'm just 20 icon_redface.gif - but I'm new in this "American styled cakes" thing...sooo, I'm trying to make Fondant (to cover the cake) and the recipe says I need vegetable shortening but given that I'm from Spain I can't seem to find it anywhere in this country!!!! icon_cry.gif what I have found is animal shortening (? I mean made of pork fat) would that work? is there any difference beside one being from vegetable and the other one from animals?

I have also found a brand called Crisco - which I think is from the USA- that is sold online though it's a bit -lot- expensive icon_eek.gif 7 + shipping compared to 1,65 of average animal shortening/ butter/ margarine.

Thank you very much in advance for your help! and I apologize if I made any mistake in English icon_redface.gif

4 replies
OMGitsaLisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
OMGitsaLisa Posted 5 Jan 2010 , 12:17am
post #2 of 5

I don't know what to suggest to you as a substitution, but don't use animal shortening. It would be gross. The animal shortening is going to taste a bit like animals, as is my understanding.

And yes, Crisco will work, but hopefully someone else will have a better suggestion than just buying that online.

metria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
metria Posted 5 Jan 2010 , 12:19am
post #3 of 5

Crisco is a popular brand in the USA. Do you have Cookeen? Wikipedia says it's a brand in the UK.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shortening

SpringFlour Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SpringFlour Posted 5 Jan 2010 , 12:19am
post #4 of 5