What Is The Best Fondant To Use Thats Store Bought?

Decorating By etwjdw2006 Updated 20 Sep 2010 , 3:58pm by what_a_cake

etwjdw2006 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
etwjdw2006 Posted 2 Jan 2010 , 6:58pm
post #1 of 17

I am new to baking but i have done a couple cakes and have triedd using waltons and it didnt taste very well and wanted something that tasted great. Also the last cake i made the fondant melted of least that what it looked liked. is it because i used store bought choclote icing and to much moisture. This time i was planning on using butter creame though. Sorry for keep going on. TIA

16 replies
cblupe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cblupe Posted 2 Jan 2010 , 7:05pm
post #2 of 17

I think the Massa Americana from Albert Uster Imports tastes awesome.

Have you tried putting flavorings in the Wilton fondant?

Dizzymaiden Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dizzymaiden Posted 2 Jan 2010 , 7:09pm
post #3 of 17

My favorite is Satin Ice. I recently used it for baby cookies. The look is close to perfect and most like the taste. Used on a cake - homemade fondant is still the best. I find that buttercream always wins out.

ConnieJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ConnieJ Posted 2 Jan 2010 , 7:18pm
post #4 of 17

I really like the Satin Ice brand because it has a great, marshmallow taste and is very easy to use. For taste, I so far like Choco-Pan the best because it has an awesome flavor as it is made with white chocolate. However, it is not as easy to use as Satin Ice and you have to soften it up with shortening more frequently.

cakesrock Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesrock Posted 2 Jan 2010 , 7:24pm
post #5 of 17

Ditto on satin ice

chefjulie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chefjulie Posted 2 Jan 2010 , 7:31pm
post #6 of 17

I think that Massa Grischuna is, by far, the best fondant- homemade or store bought. However, it is rather pricey.

I buy Satin Ice and love it- I can buy 20 lbs for $60ish (including shipping).