Imbc, Under Fondant? Dominican Merinque Buttercream

Decorating By JCE62108 Updated 11 Jun 2010 , 1:40am by tgress13

JCE62108 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JCE62108 Posted 12 Dec 2009 , 1:43am
post #1 of 9

I have a customer who is requesting IMBC. I have never used it or made it before, so Im a little worried. She wants it under fondant. Is that possible? Also, does it need to be refridgerated? Is this an icing for advanced pastry chefs and such? I feel like Ive heard before that it is difficult to make and get it right. Is the consistancy similar to BC? I found one recipe that uses butter and shortening. Is this the same with all meringue buttercreams? She said she had it at a spanish bakery, but I dont see any recipes for a spanish meringue buttercream. Is this the italian she most likely tried?

Oh wow, ok NM I just found my recipe for meringue icing (dominican). I totally forgot I had that recipe. There is no butter or shortening in this one.

Its 3/4 C water, 3 C sugar, 8 egg whites, 1 tsp dominican vanilla.

Is this type of meringue buttercream ok under fondant? Anyone know is it difficult to make? Is it soft like icing? Does it crust? Im really a bit nervous about this.

8 replies
JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 12 Dec 2009 , 2:07am
post #2 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCE62108

Oh wow, ok NM I just found my recipe for meringue icing (dominican). I totally forgot I had that recipe. There is no butter or shortening in this one.

Its 3/4 C water, 3 C sugar, 8 egg whites, 1 tsp dominican vanilla.

Is this type of meringue buttercream ok under fondant?

Your recipe is for meringue icing or 7 minute type frosting.

Meringue buttercreams, like American buttercreams have fat (usually butter) as one of their basic ingredients.

If your customer requested IMBC, she won't be happy with the Dominican meringue frosting - they're two completely different types of frosting.

And yes, you certainly can use IMBC under fondant.