First Cake Settling! I Don't Know What To Do!

Decorating By TatumCakes Updated 1 Dec 2009 , 6:01am by 350BakerStreet

TatumCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TatumCakes Posted 29 Nov 2009 , 7:47am
post #1 of 8

I just made a wedding cake for an aquaintance, but had major troubles with the frosting oozing out the sides after the tiers were covered in fondant. I attached a picture. Sad thing is, in the transport, it got much worse to the point that it was slightly tilting. Question: is there any fixing it at this point?

I thought that it was the frosting. And maybe it was. I made the frosting just out of cream cheese and butter, no shortening. I don't like the taste of shortening. Is there any frosting that doesn't require shortening that will hold up?

But, I just read a post about "settling", which I had never heard of. I'm a beginner. I've never "settled" my cakes before covering them with fondant. I'm curious what steps I'm missing in covering my cakes. I usually freeze my cakes after baking, then thaw them before I fill and frost, then I immediately cover in fondant. Please help! What am I doing wrong?
LL

7 replies
aundrea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aundrea Posted 29 Nov 2009 , 9:53am
post #2 of 8

i think you need to let you cakes sit overnight (if possible) so they can settle. once torted and filled cakes will settle its a natural process. i didnt know about this either until i came on CC.
you can't cover your cakes so soon after filling them, especially with fondant. (a process im still trying to master since time is always my issue).
also, i just tried tonight for the first time using gnache instead of BC under my fondant and it was a success!! definatley try that instead. this way no ooozing under your fondant.
by the look of the picture your cake looks fine to me.
HTH

brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 29 Nov 2009 , 1:07pm
post #3 of 8

the cake looks great!