Help!! I Need Silver Icing!

Baking By Joanne3554 Updated 27 Nov 2009 , 11:15pm by ApplegumKitchen

Joanne3554 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Joanne3554 Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 1:49am
post #1 of 11

Can anyone tell me how to make silver icing? I also need navy blue icing.
I need to be able to spread it onto cookies. I am new to decorating cookies and need so many tips and tons of advice! PLEASE HELP!

10 replies
Sweettooth1120 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweettooth1120 Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 2:02am
post #2 of 11

I dont know of any way to make it the real silver. When I have done silver i had to brush over what I wanted silver with silver luster dust mixed with vodka or almond extract.

verono Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
verono Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 2:05am
post #3 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweettooth1120

I dont know of any way to make it the real silver. When I have done silver i had to brush over what I wanted silver with silver luster dust mixed with vodka or almond extract.

I do the same.

Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 2:10am
post #4 of 11

Navy blue is just royal blue with black added until it turns navy.

luv2bake6 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luv2bake6 Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 2:10am
post #5 of 11

For navy, you'd just use a navy food color.
For silver icing, you could color the icing grey (putting some black into white icing will make grey) and then use silver luster dust to shine it up. Luster dust comes in powder form. You could either brush it on as is or the way i like to use it is by mixing it with a little lemon extract (it evaporates to leave a nice shine on the decoration) or vodka. HTH

tomswife Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tomswife Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 2:23am
post #6 of 11