Taking A Risk? (Venting)

Lounge By Pookie59 Updated 20 Nov 2009 , 8:04pm by michellenj

Pookie59 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pookie59 Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 9:54pm
post #1 of 9

So after years (5+) of working a mindless job, I was offered a promotion at my current place of employ for a job that I have 18 years of prior experience doing (another firm, different city) and have a degree for. Sounds great, right?

I guess I'm a little worried because my current position, although not fulfilling, is pretty safe in terms of lay-off, etc. The new job is being filled because they have so much work in that department right now and probably will for some time, but if things slow down again... who knows. Also I've heard that a co-worker in that department (who's a little schizo anyway) is mad, probably because she thinks her job will be less secure once I'm on board. Also this place rarely promotes from within - usually they hire from outside the firm rather than promote (go figure), so there may be a little jealousy.

I hate to play it safe my whole life since I think this is a good opportunity, but I can't help but worry just a little.

8 replies
LaBellaFlor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaBellaFlor Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 10:03pm
post #2 of 9

You know what my biggest concern is about this situation? The fact that they always promote someone from the OUTSIDE the dept., not inside. What does that say about the staff you may potentially be working with? Is that going to be a comfortable & productive environment to work in? If they never promote from within, I don't think so. Just another thing to consider. Wgat ever you decide, I wish you the best in your decision! thumbs_up.gif

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 11:04pm
post #3 of 9

That is a very very very interesting question and unfortunately there's no good answer either. icon_biggrin.gif